致电 6733 3372

无疤缝合式双眼皮手术(SUB)

什么是双眼皮?

双眼皮是一种通俗的说法,用来形容一条越过上眼皮的皱折,当眼睛张开时会向内折入眼皮深处。双眼皮的医学名词是“上眼皮皱折”或简称“眼皮皱折”,或“上眼睑皱折”或“上眼睑折痕”。(图 1)

slide13
(图 1)

形成双眼皮的原因是什么?

构成双眼皮的皱折是由眼睑皮内层和张开眼睛时将眼皮向上拉的提肌之间的纤维连结所形成。因此当眼睛张开时,提肌的上拉力也会将皮肤沿着皱折线向内拉,进而深化皱折并形成折痕。 (图 2)

slide17_cn(图 2)

没有双眼皮(即单眼皮)的原因是什么?

眼皮内层和提肌之间如果缺乏前述的纤维性组织连结,就不会出现皱折和折痕。(图 3)

slide18_cn(图 3)

为什么许多东方人都没有双眼皮?

在东方人种(中国人、日本人和韩国人)之中,缺乏双眼皮的现象非常普遍。
这是这些种族的人种(遗传)特征之一。(图 4)

slide4
(图 4)

为什么人们喜欢有双眼皮?

缺乏眼皮皱折会令眼睛看起来比较小,而且不够明亮、有神。眼睫毛也较不明显,因为它们会向下且向内弯。此外,随着老化开始出现的眼皮松弛和浮肿现象也会更加明显。因此,无皱折的眼皮较易提前且加速老化。在其他所有条件相同的情况下,双眼皮会使眼睛看起来更大、更明亮且更年轻,眼睫毛也会因为向上和向外翘起而更加明显。这一切都会使眼眸看起来更加魅力四射。因此,即使您的眼睛在没有双眼皮时看起来已经很漂亮,可一旦拥有双眼皮,它们将会更加动人。(图 5)

slide05
(图 5)

双眼皮可否以非手术方式建构?

可以。但比较麻烦,而且效果是暂时性的。暂时性的双眼皮可用胶带或胶水建构,但患者必须忍受频繁黏贴这些辅助工具的不便——通常每天都需要贴一次。此外,长期使用经常会导致皮肤受刺激而产生红肿和发痒等症状。这也解释了为什么许多胶带和胶水使用者最终都会采取永久性、无需保养的手术方式来解决此问题。

如何以手术方式建构双眼皮?

制造上眼皮皱折的关键在于建构、固定和维持眼皮内层和提肌之间所缺乏的连结。方法是使用缝线沿着预定的眼皮皱折线上将这两个结构缝接起来。(图 6)

slide19_cn(图 6)

以手术方式建构的双眼皮为何能永久存在?

手术建构的双眼皮的长期效果并不是决定于一开始建构这条皱折的缝线,而是随着时间推移在缝合处四周形成的疤痕组织。这是因为缝线最终会穿过眼皮组织且不再维持眼皮和提肌之间的实际连结。它们最后会永久被埋在眼皮组织内部。不过,到时候在缝合处四周已经形成纤维性的疤痕组织,而这些疤痕组织的纤维将会永久维持皮肤与肌肉之间的连结。因此,其永久效果来自于患者自己的疤痕组织,而不再是缝线。形成的疤痕组织越多,皱折永久存在的可能性就越高。

手术结果如果最终失败,原因何在?

由于此效果的永久性须依赖足够疤痕组织的形成,因此如果未形成足够的疤痕组织,皱折可能会随着时间而逐渐淡化(变浅),最后甚至会消失。这便是所谓的手术失败。

我们如何确保形成足够的疤痕组织,使手术建构的皱折能永久存在且不会消失?

以较复杂的形式植入更多缝线并系紧一些,是产生更多疤痕组织的要件,它可强化并稳固眼皮和提肌之间的连结,使它更为永久。

这些缝线如何被植入眼皮中?

植入缝线的方法有两种:

(1) 先在眼皮上切开一个切口,然后将缝线埋入眼皮内层。这方法称为切割式或开放式双眼皮手术(OUB)。(图 7)

slide07
(图 7)

(2) 在眼皮中植入缝线而无任何手术切口。这方法称为非切割式或缝合式双眼皮手术(SUB)。(图 8)

slide08
(图 8)

我们如何在两种方法之中作出选择?

根据黄医生的治疗原则,患有眼皮松弛和/或眼部浮肿(因突出的脂肪垫造成)问题的患者需要接受开放式或切割式手术,以便在埋入缝线建构双眼皮的同时也可将多余的皮肤和脂肪去除。反之,没有明显皮肤松弛和/或眼部浮肿问题的患者则适合接受缝合式手术。

缝合式手术的优点何在?

与切割式手术相比,缝合式双眼皮手术是一种侵入性极低、不留疤且更快速完成的手术。这些缝线会形成一条永久、外观自然的新皱折,而不需要进行侵入性手术并留下疤痕。此外,眼睛在张开时会变得更大,看起来更加神釆奕奕。

但我听说缝合式手术比较容易失败

利用缝线建构无疤双眼皮的技术种类繁多,从简单到复杂的都有,其中有些技术相比其他更为可靠。较简单的技术使用较少的缝线,缝合法也较简单。这类手术的康复期较短,但也较不可靠,而导致它们的失败率较高的最大可能原因则是因为所形成的疤痕组织数量并不够多。较复杂的技术则使用较多缝线并采取较复杂的缝合法,而且缝线被系得更紧。它们会造成较严重的肿胀,而且消肿时间较长,但相比下这类手术却更可靠,因为它可在眼皮和提肌之间形成更多结疤。因此失败率也较低。

黄医生的缝合式手术属于较复杂的手术类型,因此消肿速度并不是最快的,但是手术结果却非常可靠,失败率低于 1%。黄医生相信在最终分析时,长期效果才是最重要的决定因素。因此,采用较复杂的技术是值得的,因为它可带给患者长期的可靠性,而患者期望的正是长期的可靠性,以及无需保养的永久皱折。

黄医生的手术与其他“可靠”的手术在比较之下有何差别?

在可靠的双眼皮手术之中,最有名的是南晴洋(Akihiro Minami)医生所发明的交叉式植入双眼皮(DST)手术。

缝合式双眼皮手术与交叉式植入勾双眼皮手术虽然不一样,但都有着相同的原则:足够的缝线材料和复杂结构及缝线紧度以产生足够的疤痕,达到可靠的效果。事实上,黄医生在每一边眼皮使用的缝线更多(相较于 DST 手术的两个缝线点,此手术有四个缝线点)。四个缝线点分布在整个眼皮上,因此缝合式双眼皮手术可更良好控制从内角至外角的整条皱折线(相反的,DST 手术只能控制眼皮的中段区域)。

黄医生从 1990 年初便开始使用缝合式手术法。这些年来,黄医生已治疗过数百名患者,他的手术技巧经过持续不断的精进,至今已发展成一门先进、灵活且可靠的手术,可建构出外观自然的双眼皮皱折,失败率低至 1% 以下。

关于“灵活”,这代表什么意思?

不同高度和形状的双眼皮皱折可通过手术建构。手术也能修改眼睛张开的角度。综合来说,这三项因素的不同变化将转而影响眼睛整体的形状和大小。

缝合式双眼皮手术可在以下决定手术整容效果的三项重要变量上作出调整:皱折高度、皱折形状和眼裂。因此这是一项具有多功能灵活特性的手术,可为每位患者量身设计个人的整形结果。

皱折高度

皱折高度指的是双眼皮有多高或多低。此高度可从闭眼时的眼睫毛边缘测量,以毫米为单位。低位皱折的高度通常为 6 至 7 毫米,中位皱折为 7 至 8 毫米,高位皱折则一般为 9 至 10 毫米,从眼睫毛边缘测量。(图 9)

slide09_r1_cn
(图 9)

黄医生会使用一支精密的测径卡钳仔细进行这项测量。

皱折高度决定于眼睛的整体大小和眉毛的高度。眼睛较小且眉毛位置较低的患者应该采用低位皱折,而眼睛较大且眉毛较高者应采用较高的皱折位置,以取得更自然的效果。此外,经常化眼妆的患者应选择位置稍高的皱折,好让效果更佳,这是因为眼妆(尤其是深色的眼妆)会使皱折显得较低。

皱折形状

皱折的形状主要有两种:开扇型和平行型。开扇型的折痕在内角部位较低,外角部位较高。(图 10)

slide10_r1_cn
(图 10)

由于黄医生在每一边眼皮使用四个缝线点,因此可根据患者的需求和期望进一步精密调整折痕的弧线角度,从轻微到较明显的角度皆可(后者会呈现一条向外眼角逐渐扩大的弧线)。根据黄医生的经验,大部分东方人患者采用开扇型皱折在视觉上的效果最好,弧线角度则根据每位患者的情况决定。

平行型皱折在内角和外角的高度相同。(图 11)

slide11_r1_cn
(图 11)

这种皱折形状适合眼睛较深邃、上眼皮相对较薄,而且缺乏内眼角赘皮(见下图)的东方人患者。这种皱折形状事实上是西方人眼皮的典型特征,这也就是为什么它只适用于少数具有略带西方人眼皮结构的东方人患者。

我的双眼皮皱折应该以内眼角还是内眼角上方为起点?

这个问题的答案取决于内眼角的解剖结构,也就是所谓的眼角内眦。许多东方人患者的眼睛内角都有一层向下延伸的皮肤皱折,称为内眼角赘皮(蒙古折)。(图 12)

slide12_cn
(图 12)

如果蒙古折存在而且明显,它会对眼角内眦部位的皮肤产生往下拉的力量。这会产生降低内角皱折高度并使折痕与内角会合的效果。而这正是天生具有双眼皮且蒙古折明显的人会出现的情形。因此在这种情况下,皱折最好从内角处开始设计,因为这可产生最自然的效果,仿如天生具有双眼皮和明显蒙古折的人所呈现的样子。(图 13)

slide13
(图 13)

即使所建构的皱折是以内眼角上方为起点,最终也可能因为蒙古折强大的向下张力而垮下,结果皱折还是与眼角内眦连接。

相反的,如果蒙古折较浅或不存在,则可从内角上方开始设计皱折,由黄医生和患者共同商讨可呈现动人眼眸的高度。(图 14)

slide14
(图 14)

皱折的起点仍然是内眼角上方,由于蒙古折太浅或不存在,即使蒙古折将眼皮往下拉,皱折也不会落下到内眼角。

如果我有明显的蒙古折,但希望双眼皮能以内眼角上方为起点呢?

在此情况下,需要同时进行缝合式双眼皮手术和开内眼角手术(见下文)。

眼裂

眼睛张开的程度被称为眼裂。眼裂大小可在进行缝合式双眼皮手术时通过缝线植入眼皮的方式来调整控制。如果眼睛太小,增大眼裂可使眼睛看起来更大、更明亮。(图 15)

slide15
(图 15)

如果眼睛已经够大,建构双眼皮时无需调整眼裂。这体现了缝合式手术法的另一个灵活之处,让黄医生可为每位患者量身定制最合适的效果。

有关对称性的问题呢?

对称性永远是任何美容整形手术的一个重要目标。在双眼皮手术方面,有几个与患者本身结构有关的因素可能会影响对称性方面的结果。当中最重要的是眼球在眼窝中的位置。如果有一颗眼球在眼窝中的位置比另一颗眼球深,那么一边的眼睛看起来会比较小且比较深陷。眉毛也会显得较低垂,使上眼皮看起来较重(因为在双眼皮顶部松垂的皮肤比另一边多)。当其他所有条件相等时,多余的松垂皮肤会使双眼皮皱折看起来比另一边低。在此情况下,黄医生有时会刻意在较下垂的一边建构一个较高一些的皱折,以弥补眼球的不对称性。

有关我的双眼皮的建构方式,我是否有决定权?

有的。根据您的眼皮解剖结构而定,黄医生将利用其判断和经验帮助您选择最适合您的眼睛的新折痕形状和高度。在手术前,他会对着镜子向您解说,让您可以在他实际为您建构双眼皮之前同意该双眼皮皱折的设计(开扇形或平行型)和高度(您将被告知其毫米高度),或按照您自己的喜好修改。一旦您和黄医生达成协议后,他会仔细地在您的眼皮上测量和标记,并在执行手术时尽可能最精确地遵照这些标记。

这项协议可确保您对您的双眼皮将会呈现的外观拥有主要的决定权,并确保您事先知道您将获得的手术结果而无需费神去想象或猜测。黄医生从多年来与数百位患者的接触中发现,这种与患者互动的方式以及患者在决策中的参与程度使他能在手术结果中达到最大的精确度和控制,进而实现极高的患者满意度,而这也就是最终的目标。

手术过程需要多久时间?麻醉方式和康复期如何?

这是一项约 30 分钟的日间手术,通常是在局部麻醉下进行。注射麻醉药时会感到略微刺痛,但一旦施用局部麻醉剂之后,在手术过程中不会感觉到任何疼痛。大部分患者也可采取静脉麻醉的方式。术后疼痛轻微,可通过口服止痛药良好控制。由于会出现肿胀和瘀伤情形,康复期约 10 天。

为什么不同的外科医生对于肿胀程度和康复期长短会有不同的说法?

为什么不同的外科医生对于肿胀程度和康复期长短会有不同的说法?必须注意的一点是,肿胀问题以及由肿胀导致的康复期是相对的,主要取决于两个变数。第一个变数是局部麻醉药的剂量多少。麻醉药越多表示肿胀越严重,但也表示疼痛越少。事实上,如果局部麻醉剂量充足就不会感觉到任何疼痛,这对患者而言是最舒适的状态。黄医生较不倾向于在局部麻醉剂方面妥协,因为让患者享受舒适、无痛的体验对他来说极其重要。

第二个变数是植入的缝线针数、植入的方式以及系紧的程度。较复杂的技术通常会采用较复杂的缝合法植入较多的缝线,而且缝线拉得较紧。这会造成较严重的肿胀并需要更长时间才会消退,但这些技术可使我们的失败率降低许多。

一般上,患者的瘀伤可在两周之内完全消退。到了两周时,肿胀情形大约消退了 50%。不过,患者可在术后 10 天开始化眼妆,这可有效遮盖剩余的肿胀和瘀伤。因此,康复期实际上是 10 天。一个月后,肿胀情形会减少大约 70%,在 3 个月时改善至 90%,6 个月时完全消肿。

哪些医生能执行上眼睑整形术?

根据新加坡医药理事会(SMC)的规定,只有整形外科医生和眼部整形外科医生(眼科的次专科之一)可合法执行包括双眼皮手术在内的上眼睑整形术。这项法规包含在新加坡医药理事会的医生美容作业指引中,可从以下链接访问:

下载 PDF 文件

但有些全科医生还是会提供及执行双眼皮手术…

没错,的确如此。因此,患者应了解,这项作法已违反新加坡医药理事会的指引方针。

如果不容许,为什么这些全科医生能继续提供及执行这项手术?

这是因为有关当局执法不够严谨,因此无法确保医生遵守这些规定。

如何确认提供上眼睑整形术的医生是一位全科医生,还是整形外科或眼部整形外科医生?

最安全的确认方式便是亲自访问卫生部网站(见以下链接),查询该医生是否已列入获认可的专科医生名单中:

http://mservices.moh.gov.sg/eservices/doctorSearch.do

您可以依医生姓名或专科进行搜索。无论采取哪一种方式,都能确认该医生是全科医生还是专科医生。

如果您的搜索结果显示该医生为整形外科医生或眼部整形外科医生,便可确定他是一位诚实可靠的专科医生。否则无论外表观感如何,都表示这位医生不值得您信赖。

国际认可

黄医生在眼睑整形手术和眼睑下垂修复方面的质量广获国际认可,同时也是这方面课题炙手可热的演讲者人选。他经常受邀到日本、韩国和中国及东南亚地区的国际整形手术会议上发表他的成果。

因此身为他的患者,您可完全放心地接受这位国际认可的专家为您执刀。

Cosmetic Surgery Clinic

Call us at 6733 3372

Scarless Double Eyelids by Suture Upper Blepharoplasty (SUB)

What are double eyelids?

The term double eyelid is a lay term used to describe a crease that runs across the skin of the upper eyelid, and deepens into a skin fold when the eyes are open. The medical term for the double eyelid is “upper eyelid crease”, or “lid crease” for short, or “supratarsal crease”, or “supratarsal fold”. (Fig. 1)

Double Eyelid Surgery
(Fig. 1)

What causes the double eyelid?

The crease that is responsible for the double eyelid is due to fibrous connections between the underside of the eyelid skin and the levator muscle that pulls the eyelid upwards when the eye is opened. Thus, when the eye is opened, the upward pull of the levator muscle also pulls the skin inwards along the line of the crease, deepening the crease and creating the fold. (Fig. 2)

Scarless Double Eyelids Surgery(Fig. 2)

What causes the double eyelid to be absent?

A lack of the aforementioned fibrous tissue connections between the underside of the skin and the levator muscle results in the absence of the crease and fold. (Fig. 3)

Double Eye lid without surgery(Fig. 3)

Why do so many Oriental people lack double eyelids?

The absence of the double eyelid is extremely common amongst Oriental races (Chinese, Japanese and Korean). This is simply a racial (i.e. genetic) characteristic of these races. (Fig. 4)

slide4
(Fig. 4)

Why is it desirable to have double eyelids?

Absent eyelid creases make the eyes look smaller, and less bright and alert. The eyelashes are also less visible because they tend to be angled downwards and inwards. In addition, skin laxity and puffiness tend to be more noticeable when they start to appear from aging. Thus, eyelids without a crease tend to age earlier and faster. Thus, all other things being equal, double eyelids tend to make the eyes look bigger, brighter, and more youthful, with more visible eyelashes angled more upwards and outwards. All of this results in more attractive eyes. Therefore, it is a general truth that no matter how pretty your eyes may look without double eyelid creases, they will look even better with the double eyelid crease. 

Can double eyelids be created non-surgically?

Yes, but they are troublesome and temporary. Temporary double eyelids can be created using tape or glue, but patients have to live with the inconvenience of frequently applying these aids, usually on a daily basis. In addition, long term use is often associated with skin irritation that produces redness, itch and swelling. This explains why most tape and glue users eventually seek a permanent, maintenance free, surgical solution to this problem.

How are double eyelids surgically created?

Double Eyelid Surgery Procedure

The key to producing the upper eyelid crease is to create, establish and maintain that missing connection between the underside of the skin and the levator muscle. This is achieved by using sutures (stitches) that connect those two structures along the line of the intended lid crease. (Fig. 6)

Double Eyelid Surgery procedure(Fig. 6)

How do surgically created double eyelids become permanent?

The long term result of surgically created double eyelids depends not on the sutures inserted to create them in the first place, but on scar tissue that forms around the sutures over time. This is because the sutures will eventually cut through the eyelid tissues and cease to maintain the physical connection between skin and levator muscle. They then simply remain buried within the eyelid tissues. However, by that time, fibrous scar tissue would have formed around the sutures, and it is these fibers of scar tissue that maintain the skin-muscle connection in the long term. Therefore, the permanent result is due to the patient’s own scar tissue, and not the sutures anymore. The more scar tissue is produced, the more likely the crease will be permanent.

How does a surgical result eventually fail?

Since the permanence of the result depends on adequate scar tissue formation, it follows that if not enough scar tissue is produced, the crease could become weaker (i.e. shallower) with time and may even eventually disappear. This is known as failure.

How do we ensure that enough scar tissue forms so that the surgically crease will be permanent and it doesn’t fail?

More sutures placed in a more complicated manner and tied more tightly are the key factors to producing more scar tissue which strengthens and stabilizes the skin to muscle connection and makes it more permanent.

How are these sutures placed in the eyelid?

They can be placed in one of two ways:

(1) by first making an incision along the eyelid, then placing the sutures inside the eyelid. This is known as incisional, or Open Upper Blepharoplasty (OUB). (Fig. 7)

slide07
(Fig. 7)

(2) by inserting the sutures in the eyelid without any surgical incision. This is the non-incisional or Suture Upper Blepharoplasty (SUB). (Fig. 8)

slide08
(Fig. 8)

How do we decide between the two methods?

In Dr Huang’s algorithm, patients who have excess skin and/or puffiness (due to prominent fat pads) will require a open or incisional approach, so that the excess skin and fat can be removed at the same time as inserting the sutures to create the double eyelid. On the other hand, patients who do not have a significant amount of loose skin and/or puffiness are good candidates for the SUB technique.

What are the advantages of SUB?

SUB is minimally invasive, scarless and quicker to perform than OUB. These sutures create a permanent, natural looking new crease without the need for invasive surgery and scars. In addition, the eyes will open bigger and will look brighter and more alert.

But I’ve heard that suture techniques are more likely to fail

There are many techniques for creating scarless double eyelids with stitches. They range from simple to complex and some are more reliable than others. The simpler techniques uses fewer sutures and they are inserted more simply. They have shorter recovery times but they are less reliable, and their failure rates are higher, because they are more likely to be produce insufficient scar tissue. The more complex techniques use more sutures placed in more complex patterns and are tied more tightly. They cause more swelling and the swelling takes longer to subside but they are more reliable because they create more scarring between the skin and levator muscle. Hence they have lower failure rates.

Dr Huang’s SUB technique falls into the complex category, so the swelling is not the fastest to subside, but it is reliable, with a less than 1% failure rate. Dr Huang believes that in the final analysis, the long term result is what matters the most. Therefore a more complex technique is justified because this is what produces long term reliability, and long term reliability with a maintenance free, permanent crease is what patients want.

How does Dr Huang’s technique compare with other “reliable” techniques?

The most well known of the reliable techniques is the Double Suture and Twisted (DST) technique developed by Dr Akihiro Minami.

SUB is different from the DST technique, yet shares with the same principles: enough suture material and sufficient complexity and suture tension to produce enough scarring to be reliable. In fact, Dr Huang uses more sutures per eyelid (four sutures versus two in the DST procedure). The four sutures are spread along the whole eyelid, so SUB allows better control of the crease along the entire length of the crease from inner corner to outer corner (as opposed to controlling just the middle portion of eyelid in the DST technique).

Dr Huang has been using the SUB technique since the early 1990s. In treating many hundreds of patients over the years, he has continuously improved and refined the technique to its current state of being an advanced, versatile and reliable technique for creating natural looking creases with a low failure rate of less than 1%.

What do you mean by saying that it is versatile?

Double eyelid creases can be created in different heights and shapes. The procedure can also alter the degree to which the eye opens. These three factors in turn affect the shape and size of the eyes as a whole.

SUB can be adjusted for these three important parameters that in turn determine the aesthetic outcome of the procedure: crease height, crease shape, and eye opening. This makes it versatile and confers the ability to customize the result for each individual patient.

Crease height

Crease height refers to how high or low the crease will be. It is measured in millimeters from the eyelash margin with the eyes closed. A low crease usually measures 6 to 7 mm, a medium crease is 7 to 8 mm, while a high crease is typically 9 to 10 mm from the eyelash margin. (Fig. 9)

slide09_r1
(Fig. 9)

Dr Huang performs this measurement carefully using a pair of fine measuring calipers.

The crease height is determined according to the overall size of the eyes and the level of the eyebrows. To obtain natural results, smaller eyes with low set eyebrows should be given low creases, while larger eyes with higher eyebrows will look better with higher creases. In addition, patients who use eye makeup regularly would benefit from a slightly higher crease, because eye makeup (especially dark eye makeup) makes the crease look lower.

Crease shape

There are two main crease shapes: tapered and parallel. A tapered crease is lower in the inner corner and higher in the outer corner. (Fig. 10)

slide10_r1
(Fig. 10)

Since he uses four sutures per eyelid, Dr Huang is able to fine tune the crease shape to different degrees of tapering, from mild tapering to a more pronounced tapering that produces a lateral flare in the outer corner of the eye, according to the needs and desires of the patient. In his experience, the majority of Oriental patients look best with a tapered crease, and the degree of tapering is customized for each patient.

A parallel crease is of equal height in the inner and outer corners. (Fig. 11)

Double Eye Lid Surgery, Parallel crease
(Fig. 11)

This crease shape can be suitable for Oriental patients who have deep set, relatively hollow upper eyelids and a lack of an epicanthic fold (see below). This crease shape is in fact typical of Caucasian eyelids, which explains why it is suitable only in a minority of Oriental patients who may have slightly Caucasian eyelid anatomy.

Should my crease begin at the inner corner of the eye or above the inner corner?

The answer to this question depends on the anatomy of the inner corner of the eye, which is known as the medial canthus. Many Oriental patients have a fold of skin that runs vertically down the inner corner of the eye called an epicanthic fold. (Fig. 12)

Epicanthic fold, double eyelid surgery
(Fig. 12)

When present and prominent, the epicanthic fold exerts a downward pull on the skin of the medial canthal area. This has the effect of lowering the crease height in the inner corner and causes the crease to meet the inner corner. This is exactly what happens in individuals who have natural double eyelids and a prominent epicanthic fold. In this situation, it is best to design the crease to begin at the inner corner because this produces the most natural result, simulating what we see in people who have a natural crease and a strong epicanthic fold. (Fig. 13)

Epicantic Eyelid Surgery Procedure
(Fig. 13)

In any case, even if the crease were to be created to begin above the inner corner, it is likely to eventually collapse anyway due to the strong downward tension of the epicanthic fold, and the crease will then end up joining the medial canthus.

On the other hand, If the epicanthic fold is mild or absent, the crease can be designed to begin above the inner corner, at a height that is judged by Dr Huang and the patient to be attractive. (Fig. 14)

epicanthic fold eyelid surgery procedure
(Fig. 14)

The start of the crease will remain above the inner corner because the weak or absent epicanthic fold will pull the skin down and will not cause the crease to collapse down to the inner corner.

What if I have a prominent epicanthic fold but I want my crease to start above the inner corner?

In this case, a medial epicanthoplasty (see below) will need to be performed together with the SUB.

Eye opening (palpebral aperture)

The degree to which the eye opens is known as the palpebral aperture. This can be controlled in the SUB technique by the way the sutures are positioned in the eyelid when they are placed. If the eyes are too small, which they often are, the palpebral aperture can be increased, making the eyes look bigger and brighter. 

What about the issue of symmetry?

Symmetry is always an important goal in any cosmetic surgery procedure. When it comes to double eyelids, several factors involving the patient’s own anatomy can affect the outcome in terms of symmetry. Most important is the position of the eyeballs within the eye socket. If one eyeball is sitting deeper in the eye socket than the other, the eye looks smaller and more deep set on that side. The eyebrow will also be lower, and that will make the upper eyelid look heavier, with more skin hanging over the crease compared to the other side. The additional overhang of skin will make the crease look lower than the opposite side, all other things being equal. In this situation, Dr Huang will sometimes deliberately create a slightly higher crease on the more sunken side, in order to compensate for the eyeball asymmetry.

Will I have any say in how my double eyelids will be created?

Yes. Based on your eyelid anatomy, Dr Huang will use his judgment and experience to help you to choose the shape and height of the new crease that best suits your eyes. He will show this to you in the mirror before the surgery so that you can approve the design (tapered or parallel) and height (which you will be informed of in mm) of the double eyelid crease or amend it according to your own preferences before he actually creates it for you. Once both you and Dr Huang have come to an agreement, he will measure and mark it out carefully on your eyelids and follow those markings as precisely as possible when executing the procedure.

This protocol ensures that you have major input on how your crease will turn out, and that you will know exactly what you are getting beforehand, with nothing left to the imagination or guesswork. Dr Huang has found from working with hundreds of patients over the years that this interactive way of working with the patient and this degree of patient involvement in decision making allows him to have maximum precision and control over the outcome, which in turn has resulted in extremely high levels of patient satisfaction, which ultimately is what it is all about.

How long is the procedure? What about anesthesia and recovery?

The procedure takes about 30 minutes to complete and is usually done under local anesthesia as a day surgery procedure. The injections sting a little, but once the local anesthesia has been administered, there is no pain during the procedure. For greater patient, it can also be completed under intravenous sedation. Postoperative pain is mild and well controlled with oral painkillers. Downtime is about 10 days, due to swelling and bruising.

Why do different surgeons make different claims about how much swelling and downtime there will be?

It is important to be aware that the issue of swelling and the downtime caused by swelling is relative, and depends on two main variables. The first is how much local anesthesia is injected. More anesthesia means more swelling, but it also means less pain. In fact, when the local anesthesia is adequate, there will be no pain at all, which is the most desirable scenario for patient comfort. Dr Huang prefers not to compromise on the local anesthesia, as it is important him that the patient has a comfortable, pain free experience.

The second factor is the number of stitches inserted, way they are inserted and how tightly they are tied. More complex techniques tend to employ more stitches in a more complicated manner and with greater suture tension. This results in more swelling that takes longer to subside, but in return, these techniques reward us with much lower failure rates.

In general, patients can normally expect bruising to subside fully by two weeks. At two weeks, the swelling is about 50% subsided. However, by 10 days postoperatively, patients can wear eye makeup, and this allows the residual swelling and bruising to be effectively camouflaged. So the downtime is effectively 10 days. By the end of the first month, about 70% of the swelling has gone, and this improves to 90% at 3 months and 100% at 6 months.

Who can perform upper blepharoplasty?

According to the Singapore Medical Council (SMC), only plastic surgeons and oculoplastic surgeons (a subspecialty of ophthalmology) are allowed by regulations to perform upper blepharoplasty, including double eyelid surgery. This regulation is found the SMC’s Guidelines for Aesthetic Practices for Doctors, which can be accessed in the link below:

Download PDF

But some general practitioners (GPs) are offering and performing double eyelid surgery…

Yes, that is true. Therefore, patients need to be aware that this practice violates the SMC’s guidelines.

Why are these GPs able to continue to offer and perform this procedure if they are not allowed to?

Because of inadequate enforcement of regulations to ensure compliance of these regulations by doctors.

How do I tell if the doctor offering an upper blepharoplasty is a GP or a plastic or oculoplastic surgeon?

The safest way is for you to verify this yourself by checking if the doctor in question is on the list of recognized specialists on the Ministry of Health’s website (see link below):

http://mservices.moh.gov.sg/eservices/doctorSearch.do

You can perform this search according the doctor’ name or search by specialty. Either way, you will be able to determine if the doctor is a GP or specialist.

If your search reveals that the doctor is a plastic surgeon or ophthalmologist, you can be assured that your doctor is a bona fide specialist. Otherwise, he or she is not, no matter what appearances may otherwise suggest.

International recognition

The quality of Dr Huang’s work in cosmetic eyelid surgery and ptosis repair have received international recognition, and he is a sought after speaker on these subjects. He has been regularly invited to present his work at international plastic surgery meetings in Japan, Korea, and China, as well as in South East Asia.

You can therefore be assured that you will be in the hands of an internationally recognized expert as his patient.

Cosmetic Surgery Clinic