致电 6733 3372

隆乳

何谓隆乳?

隆乳即使用乳房植入物增加乳房的大小及改善其形状。

哪些人会想要接受隆乳手术?

由于乳房太小而想要增大乳房的女性,或怀孕和哺乳后乳房萎缩和变形的女性会希望接受隆乳手术。(图 1)

breastfig01_cn
(图 1)

硅胶还是盐水?

硅胶乳房植入物是较理想的植入物材料,因为比起其替代选择 – 盐水植入物,它们在视觉和触感上较为自然。硅胶植入物很安全,而且不会提高乳癌或其他疾病的风险。

哪一种硅胶植入物?

黄医生采用来自美国的最新一代优质硅胶乳房植入物。这些植入物含有高黏性的硅凝胶,这表示它们可长期保持完美的形状(即形态稳定)。由于硅是一种凝胶,而不是液体,因此也意味着即使植入物外壳在极罕见的情况下发生破裂,硅胶也不会从植入物中漏出。换句话说,植入物的体积不会流失,也不会变形。因此即使植入物破裂,也不会产生不良的后果。

圆形还是解剖形(水滴形)?

硅胶乳房植入物有两种基本设计:圆形和解剖形。圆形植入物的形状像是一个半球体,上半部和下半部一样饱满。解剖形植入物的形状就像一个水滴,上半部较扁,下半部较饱满。(图 2)

breastfig02_cn
(图 2)

圆形植入物可使乳房上半部呈现比一般自然乳房更加丰满的效果。(图 3)

breastfig03_cn
(图 3)

解剖形植入物的形状则与自然乳房较相似,因此可在上半部乳房呈现自然的轮廓曲线而不会过度丰满。大部分的饱满效果是在乳房下半部,就像自然的乳房一样。(图 4)

breastfig04_cn
(图 4)

因此,黄医生建议希望达到最自然视觉效果的患者选用解剖形植入物。由于其患者大多属于此类,因此他在大部分患者身上使用的是解剖形植入物。

事实上近几年来,隆乳手术的观念已有很大的转变,水滴状解剖形硅胶植入物的问市,使现今的趋势更重视形状,而不只是乳房的大小。

每一种尺寸(容量)的解剖形植入物还可提供广泛的形状选择,因此具有无比的灵活适配性。植入物的形状决定于三项规格:宽度、高度和突出度。这三项变数之间可变化搭配,以便能根据每位患者本身的乳房和胸壁形状结构量身定制完美适配的植入物。此外,其灵活适配的特点可容许我们比以往更有效地矫正左右两边乳房的不对称性。(图 5)

breastfig05
(图 5)

黄医生采用艾尔建公司(Allergan)生产的娜琦丽(Natrelle)高质量解剖形乳房植入物。请访问以下的娜琦丽网站以查阅有关这些植入物的信息。请注意,此植入物附带瑕疵与磨损终身保证。

http://www.natrelle.com

我们应如何决定尺寸大小和形状?

术前的评估规划和植入物的选择是取得成功结果的决定性步骤。在这个详细深入的过程中,将会以质化和量化方式仔细评估您的胸部和乳房,并测量您的胸部和乳房的几项重要尺寸 。(图 6)

breastfig06
(图 6)

根据这些测量值以及您本身对罩杯大小的期望,黄医生将会挑选出设计和尺寸最合适的解剖形植入物,让您的胸部形状自然且大小适宜,并与您的身材比例完美协调。然后,您可将这些植入物放入胸罩里试穿,并照镜子评估自己的外观如何。这可帮助您决定所选的植入物尺寸和形状是否舒适合意。

什么是 Vectra?

Vectra 是一个先进的三维乳房成像系统,可拍摄您的乳房图像.然后生成新的图像以显示您的乳房搭配您和您的整形外科医生所选择的不同植入物将会呈现的样子。这可让我们比较不同的植入物选择(不同的尺寸和形状),再决定较偏好哪一对植入物。然后,Vectra 可在您的乳房上进行虚拟手术并显示虚拟结果,以帮助您作出决定。

BS review 2-up right oblique leopard bikini RGB BS review 2-up front nude RGB BS review 2-up personal nude RGB BS review superimposed personal RGB BS review 2-up right oblique nude RGB BS review superimposed oblique RGB Breast Sculptor consult-nude RGB VECTRA X3 BreastSculptor Capture RGB X3 oblique-1-LoRz-RGB

因此,Vectra 是一个非常有用的虚拟工具,可帮助我们决定植入物的选择,并可辅助使用实际植入物的尺寸对比程序。

我们如何使用这些植入物?

手术技巧是实现完美成果的另一重要关键。事实上,解剖形植入物在使用上要求更为严苛,因为其特殊形状意味着植入位置必须完全正确,而且必须确保在术后能继续维持此位置。为确保这一点,黄医生会根据所选植入物的宽度和高度构建一个计算精密的植入腔,使植入物能像戴手套一样紧密贴合,完全没有空隙可以使它移位。此外,植入物外壳表面有粗糙的纹理,而非光滑表面。这可防止植入物变得滑溜,有助于确保它不会滚动至错误的位置。

哪一种切口最适合?(图 7)

breastfig07_cn
(图 7)

为了达到此手术精确度,最好能经由乳下线切口进行手术,此切口位置就在乳房下方与胸连接的皱褶处。此切口可提供简单且直接的手术通道以创建一个尺寸精准的植入腔,而这正是成功使用解剖形植入物的关键。

腋下切口距离乳房太远,因此不易达到此手术精确度。

乳晕外缘切口可提供良好的通道,但在手术过程中须切除部分的输乳管。这会产生两项不良后果:首先,这可能对未来哺乳造成影响;第二,它会释放输乳管中的细菌而污染植入物。虽然细菌污染程度不足以造成感染,但仍会引起一定程度的发炎现象,进而提高发生荚膜挛缩的危险(见下文)。

基于上述所有原因,黄医生向来以乳下线切口为第一选择。

置于胸大肌上方或下方?(图 8)

breastfig08_cn
(图 8)

乳房植入物可置于乳房下方,也就是胸壁的胸大肌上方, (图 9)

breastfig09_cn
(图 9)

或置于胸大肌底下。(图 10)

breastfig10_cn
(图 10)

将植入物置于胸大肌底下,可在植入物上增加额外的组织衬垫,有助于使植入物的幅度不会太明显。尤其是乳房上半部内侧,患者这个部位的组织通常较薄。

不过,完全将植入物置于胸大肌底下也有一个很大的缺点。这块非常坚韧的肌肉在收缩时会将植入物逐渐向上和向外拉扯,造成植入物移至胸部上一个过高且太偏向外侧的位置。于是,乳房上半部看起来太丰满,形状也会变形。

因此,黄医生较偏好将植入物一部分置于胸大肌底下,一部分置于乳房下方。这被称为双平面植入法。
上半部内层置于胸大肌下方,(图 11)

breastfig11_cn
(图 11)

下半部外层置于乳房下方。这可为最需要肌肉衬垫的植入物区域(较薄的上半部内侧)提供衬垫,同时避免肌肉覆盖其他区域(不需要衬垫的区域),使肌肉无法将植入物拉扯至移位。

手术的过程如何?

手术费时约 1.5 小时,是一项在全身静脉麻醉下进行(短效全身麻醉)的日间手术,术后麻醉苏醒快速。手术剥离干净精准并非常注重技术细节,流血情况也受到严密控制。无需手术引流。乳下线切口采用专门的缝合技巧缝合,可提高获得较细疤痕的机率。

康复过程如何?

术后疼痛轻微,可通过口服止痛药良好控制。瘀伤和肿胀也很轻微,使用适当的药物和一种穿在胸部的特殊康复设备便可减轻这些症状。在一两天之内即可恢复正常活动。停工期通常为两三天。在前一周至两周内,会在上胸部的乳房上戴着一个压缩带。这有助于减轻肿胀,并使植入物固定在正确位置。两周后即可拆线。

然后开始进行主动式疤痕管理计划,以确保最良好的结疤状态。前一个月避免戴胸罩,以免将植入物向上推挤,给予充分的时间让它们固定在正确位置上。一个月后可恢复运动,但三个月内应避免剧烈的上半身运动。

我多久需要看诊检查一次?

术后护理将由黄医生的护士负责,她们会细心体贴地照顾患者,黄医生也会频密地为患者检查。一般上,复诊会安排在术后第二日、第一周结束时,然后每周复诊一次,直到第一个月结束为止。之后安排每两周复诊一次,直到第二个结束为止,然后在术后三个月时复诊。之后每三个月复诊一次,直到第一年结束为止。然后将复诊间隔增加至六个月,直到第二年结束为止,之后的复诊为一年一次。

如果患者是一位只能在新加坡作短期居留的外国人,术后复诊的时间表会依其情况调整,并通过电子邮件通信方式及患者按期拍下并寄给黄医生检查的照片,远程监督其康复情形。

有哪些风险和并发症?

手术并发症如出血和感染的风险极低。主要的长期风险为荚膜挛缩。这指的是一般在植入物四周形成的结疤组织的荚膜增厚和紧缩而导致植入物硬化和变形的情况。任何可能引起发炎的状况如血液或细菌污染,都有可能导致荚膜增厚,进而提高荚膜挛缩的风险。如果发生此情形,将会影响整形结果而可能需要再动手术将它矫正。不过,这并不是一种危险的并发症。黄医生诊所的荚膜挛缩风险低于 1%。如此低的发生率,要归功于他谨慎小心的手术技巧和所使用的粗纹理表面、形态稳定的植入物。

此外还有发生乳头感觉缺失的极小风险。这是因为在创建植入腔时,乳头的感觉神经有时会阻碍手术剥离的进行。不过在大多数时候,任何感觉的缺失都是暂时性的。

最后还有一项风险极低的并发症,称为迟发性血清肿。血清肿是由称为血清的液体积聚而成,血清是由荚膜内层表面生成,有一部分包覆在植入物四周。血清是一种透明黄色液体,它事实上是不含红血球的血液。术后的迟发性血清肿可能在隆乳数个月或数年后出现的罕见迟发性并发症,大多是由于严重的钝性创伤所造成(例如剧烈运动或极粗暴的动作对乳房造成的钝性创伤冲击)。此液体会使乳房变得肿胀且更坚硬。此症可通过超声波检查确诊。治疗方式是休息和抗炎药物。通常经过此治疗后,血清肿便会消退。

多年之后,我是否需要更换植入物?

虽然黄医生采用的高质量乳房植入物不建议作为终生装置使用,但只要没有发生荚膜挛缩,患者不需要在特定年数之后更换其植入物。因此,您的植入物通常可永久保留在您体内。

我还可以接受乳房筛检吗?

手术后,乳房仍可接受超声波扫描和乳房摄影检查。

我在隆乳后是否还可以哺乳?

隆乳后仍可以哺乳,因为此手术不会伤害到乳腺和输乳管。

总结

隆乳是希望增大乳房的女性最热门的整形手术之一。黄医生会根据测量值审慎细心地进行术前评估,按照您现有的胸壁和乳房尺寸及您本身的期望,挑选出最适合您的高质量解剖形乳房植入物。他会利用最先进的手术技巧和乳下线双平面植入法,一丝不苟地执行手术且专注于技术细节。术后护理也同样仔细、周到且积极,以确保患者能顺利、无痛且快速康复。他的最终目标是为患者提供高质量且呈现自然美感的整形结果,同时可确保高度安全且并发症发生率低。

哪些医生能执行隆乳手术?

根据新加坡医药理事会(SMC)的规定,只有整形外科医生可合法执行隆乳手术。这项法规包含在新加坡医药理事会的医生美容作业指引中,可从以下链接访问:

下载 PDF 文件

但有些全科医生也有提供及执行隆乳手术…

没错,的确如此。因此,患者应了解,这项作法已违反新加坡医药理事会的指引方针。

如果不容许,为什么这些医生能继续提供及执行这项手术?

这是因为有关当局执法不力,因此无法确保医生遵守这些规定。

如何确认提供隆乳手术的医生是否为整形外科医生?

最安全的确认方式便是亲自访问卫生部网站(见以下链接),查询该医生是否已列入获认可的专科医生名单中:

http://mservices.moh.gov.sg/eservices/doctorSearch.do

您可以依医生姓名或专科进行搜索。无论采取哪一种方式,都能确认该医生是否为整形外科医生。

如果您的搜索结果显示该医生为整形外科医生,便可确定他是一位诚实可靠的整形专科医生。否则无论外表观感如何,都表示这位医生不值得您信赖。

国际认可

黄医生是新加坡于 2007 年最早取得先进的乳房植入物手术技术的整形外科医生之一。他直接师从Charles Randquist 医生,这位来自瑞典的著名整形外科医生发明了利用解剖形植入物创造非凡效果的方法和技术。 Randquist 医生则是在美国名声显赫的整形外科医生 John Tebbets 下学习,John Tebbets 医生被誉为解剖形植入物的始祖。

从那时开始,黄医生在这类植入物方面已累积丰富的经验;目前,解剖形植入物是他和他的患者的首选乳房植入物。他是此领域的重要意见领袖,他在解剖形乳房植入物方面的成就已广获国际认可。这可反映在他与 Randquist 医生联合担任艾尔健亚洲乳房美容整形协会(AACE)董事会创始成员的角色上。此外,他在解剖形植入物隆乳手术议题上是一位广受欢迎的演讲人,经常受邀到韩国、中国和日本等亚洲国家及东南亚地区的整形手术专业会议上发表此课题方面的演说。在部分的会议上,黄医生也与 Randquist 医生密切合作,发表其本身使 Randquist 技术的优点得到验证的手术成果。在亚洲,黄医生是 Randquist 医生的理念与方法最具代表性的支持者之一。

请访问以下的 Randquist 医生网站,查看Randquist 的隆乳患者使用相同解剖形植入物并采用黄医生获取自 Randquist 医生的相同手术技巧的术前和术后照片。

http://www.victoriakliniken.com/en

因此身为他的隆乳患者,您可完全放心地接受这位国际认可的专家为您执刀。不论您是亚洲人或西方人患者都可安心无虞,因为黄医生在这两种患者群组方面皆有丰富的经验,并对不同人种的组织质地差异性十分熟悉。

Cosmetic Surgery Clinic

Call us at 6733 3372

Breast Augmentation

What is breast augmentation?

Breast augmentation involves using breast implants to increase the size and improve the shape of the breasts.

Who seeks breast augmentation?

Breast augmentation is desired by women who wish to enhance their breasts because they are too small, or by women who have lost breast volume and shape after pregnancy and breast feeding. (Fig. 1)

breastfig01
(Fig. 1)

Silicone or saline?

Silicone breast implants are the preferred choice of implant material, as they look and feel more natural compared to the alternative, saline implants. Silicone implants are safe, and do not increase the risk of breast cancer or other diseases.

What kind of silicone implants?

Dr Huang uses high quality, current generation silicone breast implants from the U.S. These implants contain silicone gel that is highly cohesive, meaning that they retain their shape well in the long term (i.e. they are form stable). The fact that the silicone is a gel and not a liquid also means that in the extremely unlikely event of rupture of the implant shell, the silicone gel will not leak out of the implant. The implant will therefore not lose any volume or shape. Thus, implant rupture, a rare event in any case, will have no adverse consequences.

Round or anatomical?

Silicone breast implants are available in two basic designs: round and anatomical. The round implant is shaped like a dome, equally full in its upper and lower parts (poles). The anatomical implant is shaped like a tear drop, less full in its upper pole and more full in its lower pole. (Fig. 2)

breastfig02
(Fig. 2)

The round implant tends to produce additional fullness in the upper pole of the breast that a natural breast does not have. (Fig. 3)

breastfig03
(Fig. 3)

On the other hand, the anatomical implant is shaped more like a natural breast, therefore it produces a natural profile in the upper pole of the breast without excessive fullness. Most of the fullness is in the lower pole of the breast, just like in a natural breast. (Fig. 4)

breastfig04
(Fig. 4)

Therefore, Dr Huang recommends anatomical implants for patients who want the most natural looking result. As most of his patients fall into this category, he uses anatomical implants in the majority of patients.

In fact, in recent years, breast augmentation has undergone a paradigm shift with the emphasis now on shape rather than just volume, thanks to the availability of the tear drop shaped anatomical silicone implant.

Anatomical implants have given an unprecedented degree of versatility, because for each size (volume), there is a wide range of shapes available. Three dimensions determine the shape of the implant: width, height, and projection. Each of these parameters can be varied so that the implants selected can be highly customized for each patient according to her own unique breast and chest wall anatomy. Furthermore, this versatility allows us to correct asymmetries between right and left sides much more effectively than before. (Fig. 5)

breastfig05
(Fig. 5)

Dr Huang uses high quality Natrelle anatomical breast implants from Allergan. Please visit the Natrelle website below for information on these implants. Note that these implants come with a lifetime warranty for defects and wear and tear.

http://www.natrelle.com

How do we decide on size and shape?

Preoperative planning and implant selection are key steps in determining a successful outcome. In this detailed process, your chest and breasts will be carefully examined qualitatively and quantitatively. Several key dimensions of your chest and breasts will be measured. (Fig. 6)

breastfig06
(Fig. 6)

Based on these measurements as well as your own desires in terms of bra cup size, Dr Huang will select the most suitable design and size of anatomical implant so that your breasts will be enhanced with a natural looking shape and an appropriate volume, and will be proportionate to the rest of your body. You will then get to try on these implants by placing them in your bra and evaluating your appearance the mirror. This helps you to decide if you are comfortable with the implant size and shape that has been selected.

What about Vectra?

Vectra is an advanced three dimensional breast imaging system that photographically captures your breast images, then produces new images to show what your breasts will look like with different sets of implants selected by you and your plastic surgeon. This allows us to compare different choices of implant (different sizes and shapes) before deciding which pair of implants is preferred. Vectra therefore performs virtual surgery on your breasts and shows you the virtual results to help you with your decision making.

 Breast Augmentation VECTRA X3 BreastSculptor Capture RGB Breast Augmentation X3 oblique-1-LoRz-RGB

Vectra is thus a very useful virtual tool to help us decide on the choice of implant, and it complements the physical sizing process using real implants.

How do we use these implants?

Surgical technique is the next important process in producing an optimal result. Anatomical implants are actually more demanding to use, since their specific shape dictates that they must be positioned correctly and this correct position must be maintained postoperatively. To ensure this, Dr Huang creates a precise pocket of space for the implant that matches the width and height of the chosen implant, so that the implant will fit tightly like a hand in a glove, with no room to move out of position. In addition, the surface of the implant shell is textured, making it rough, not smooth. This prevents the implant from becoming slippery and helps to ensure that it does not rotate into the wrong position.

Which incision is best? (Fig. 7)

breastfig07
(Fig. 7)

To achieve this degree of surgical precision, it is best to perform the operation through an inframammary incision, made in the crease just below the breast where it joins the chest. This allows easy and direct surgical access so that an accurately dimensioned implant pocket, which is key to the successful use of the anatomical implant, can be created.

The underarm incision (the trans-axillary approach) is too distant from the breast, making it difficult to achieve this level of surgical precision.

The periareoalar approach (incision around the areola) affords good  access, but it results in some milk ducts being cut in the process. This has two adverse consequences. First, this may compromise future breast feeding. Second, it releases bacteria that reside in the milk ducts, causing contamination of the implant. While the level of bacterial contamination is too low to cause infection, it will cause some degree of inflammation, which increases the risk of capsular contracture (see below).

For all of the above reasons, the infra-mammary incision remains the incision of choice for Dr Huang.

Above the muscle or below the muscle? (Fig. 8)

breastfig08
(Fig. 8)

Breast implants can be placed under the breast and on top of the pectoralis major muscle of the chest wall, (Fig. 9)

breastfig09
(Fig. 9)

or they can be placed under the muscle. (Fig. 10)

breastfig10
(Fig. 10)

Placing them under the muscle provides additional tissue padding over the implants, and helps to make the implant margins less obvious. This is especially useful in the upper inner part of the breast, where the patient’s own tissues are often thin.

However, placing the implant totally under the muscle has a significant disadvantage. This muscle, which is very strong, will gradually pull the implant upwards and outwards as it contracts, causing the implant to sit too high up on the chest and too far out to the side. The breast will then look too full in its upper pole and its shape will be distorted.

Therefore, Dr Huang prefers to place the implants partly under the muscle and partly under the breast. This is known as the dual plane approach. (Fig. 11)

breastfig11
(Fig. 11)

They are placed under the muscle in the upper inner area and under the breast in the lower outer area. This provides muscle padding for the implant in the area that needs it most (the thin upper inner zone), but avoids muscle coverage elsewhere (where it is not needed anyway), so that the muscle cannot pull the implant out of position.

What is the operation like?

The operation takes about 1.5 hours. It is done under total intravenous anesthesia (a short acting general anesthesia) as a day surgery procedure with quick post-anesthesia recovery. The surgical dissection is carried out cleanly and accurately with great attention to technical detail, and bleeding is meticulously controlled. No surgical drains are used. The inframammary incision is closed using specific stitching techniques that maximize the chance of a fine scar.

What is the recovery like?

Postoperative pain is mild and well controlled with oral pain medication. Bruising and swelling are also mild, and are reduced by appropriate medications and a special recovery device that is worn on the chest. Normal activities can be resumed within one or two days. Downtime from work is usually two or three days. A compression band is worn around the upper chest above the breasts for the first one to two weeks. This helps to reduce swelling and keeps the implants in the correct position. The stitches are removed after two weeks.

A proactive scar management program is then commenced to ensure the best possible scar. Bras are avoided for the first one month so as not to push the implants upwards and allow them sufficient time to stabilize in the correct position. Exercise can be restarted after one month, but strenuous upper body exercise should be avoided for three months.

How often will I need checkups?

Postoperative care by Dr Huang’s nurses and will be attentive and detailed and checkups by Dr Huang will be frequent. Typically, reviews are scheduled on the second postoperative day, at the end of the first week, then weekly till the end of the first month. Thereafter, reviews are scheduled very two weeks till the end of the second month, then at three months postoperatively. Subsequently, reviews are carried out every three months till the end of the first year. The interval is then increased to six months till the end of the second year, after which reviews become yearly.

If the patient is a foreigner who can only stay in Singapore for a limited time, the schedule for postoperative reviews is modified accordingly, and her recovery is monitored long distance through email communication and photos taken of the patient at appropriate intervals and sent to Dr Huang for review.

What are the risks and complications?

The risks of surgical complications such as bleeding and infection are extremely low. The main long term risk is capsular contracture. This refers to hardening and distortion of the implant caused by thickening and contraction of the capsule of scar tissue that normally forms around it. Anything that causes inflammation, such as the presence of blood or bacterial contamination can cause thickening of the capsule and therefore increase the risk of capsular contracture. If it occurs, the aesthetic result is compromised, and further surgery may be required to correct it. However, it is not a dangerous complication. The risk of capsular contracture in Dr Huang’s practice is less than one percent. This very low incidence is due to his careful surgical technique and the textured, form stable implants that he uses.

There is also a small risk of losing some nipple sensation. This is due to the fact that the sensory nerves of the nipple can sometimes get in the way of the surgical dissection when the implant pocket is being created. Most of the time, however, any sensory loss that occurs is temporary.

Finally, there is a very low risk of a complication known as a delayed seroma. A seroma is a collection of fluid known as serum that partly surrounds the implant and is produced by the inner surface of the capsule. Serum is a clear yellowish fluid that is actually blood without the red blood cells. A delayed seroma can occur as a rare and late complication many months or years after breast augmentation, most likely as a result of significant blunt trauma (e.g. blunt traumatic impact to the breast, extremely vigorous exercise, or extremely rough handling of the breast). The breast becomes swollen and firmer as a result of this fluid. The diagnosis is confirmed on ultrasound examination. Treatment is rest and anti-inflammatory drugs. The seroma usually subsides with this treatment.

Do I need to replace the implants after many years?

While the high quality breast implants used by Dr Huang are not promoted as being lifetime devices, as long as there is no capsular contracture, it is not necessary to replace the implants after a certain number of years. Therefore, the implants can usually remain in your body indefinitely.

Can I still do breast screening examinations?

After the surgery, the breasts can still be screened with ultrasound scans and mammograms.

Will I still be able to breast feed after breast augmentation?

Breast feeding is still possible after breast augmentation because the milk glands and mild ducts are not damaged by the procedure.

Summary

Breast augmentation is one of the most sought after cosmetic operations by women who desire breast enhancement. Dr Huang uses careful, measurement based preoperative planning to select the most suitable high quality anatomical breast implant for you based on your existing chest and breast dimensions as well as your own desires. He carries out the procedure meticulously and with great attention to technical detail using advanced surgical techniques and the inframammary dual plane approach. Postoperative care is equally detailed, attentive and proactive to ensure a smooth, pain free and quick recovery. His ultimate goal is to deliver to his patients a high quality, natural looking aesthetic result with a high level of safety and low complication rates.

Who can perform breast augmentation?

According to the Singapore Medical Council (SMC), only plastic surgeons are allowed by regulations to perform breast augmentation. This regulation is found the SMC’s Guidelines for Aesthetic Practices for Doctors, which can be accessed in the link below:

Download PDF

But some general surgeons are offering and performing breast augmentation…

Yes, that is true. Therefore, patients need to be aware that this practice violates the SMC’s guidelines.

Why are these doctors able to continue to offer and perform this procedure if they are not allowed to?

Because of inadequate enforcement of regulations to ensure compliance of these regulations by doctors.

How do I tell if the doctor offering breast augmentation is a plastic surgeon or a non-plastic surgeon?

The safest way is for you to verify this yourself by checking if the doctor in question is on the list of recognized specialists on the Ministry of Health’s website (see link below):

http://mservices.moh.gov.sg/eservices/doctorSearch.do

You can perform this search according the doctor’ name or search by specialty. Either way, you will be able to determine if the doctor is a plastic surgeon or not.

If your search reveals that the doctor is a plastic surgeon, you can be assured that your doctor is a bona fide specialist in plastic surgery. Otherwise, he or she is not, no matter what appearances may otherwise suggest.

International recognition

Dr Huang was one of the first plastic surgeons in Singapore to acquire the advanced surgical techniques required for using these implants in 2007. He learned them directly from Dr Charles Randquist, an eminent plastic surgeon from Sweden who has developed methods and techniques to produce outstanding results using anatomical implants. Dr Randquist in turn was mentored by renowned U.S. plastic surgeon John Tebbets, who is known as the original guru of the anatomical implant.

Since that time, Dr Huang has accumulated a significant experience with these implants, and they are now the preferred choice of breast implant for him and his patients. He is a key opinion leader in this field, and his work with anatomical breast implants has received international recognition. This is reflected in his role as a founding board member of the Allergan Asia Council of Breast Esthetics (AACE) together with Dr Randquist. In addition, he is a sought after speaker on breast augmentation using anatomical implants and has given invited presentations on this subject in plastic surgery professional meetings across Asia, in such countries as Korea, China and Japan, as well as South East Asia. At some of these meetings, Dr Huang has worked closely with Dr Randquist in presenting his own work that validates the benefits of the Randquist techniques. In Asia, Dr Huang has been one of the most visible and vocal proponents of Dr Randquist’s philosophies and methods.

Please visit Dr Randquist’s website below to see before and after photos of Dr Randquist’s breast augmentation patients using the same anatomical implants and performed with the same technique that Dr Huang has adopted from Dr Randquist.

http://www.victoriakliniken.com/en

You can therefore be assured that you will be in the expert hands of an internationally recognized expert as his breast augmentation patient. This will be true whether you are an Asian or a Caucasian patient, as Dr Huang has a large experience with both groups of patients, and is intimately familiar with the racial differences in tissue quality that make a difference.

Cosmetic Surgery Clinic